Voting Information


ABSENTEE – you can request an absentee ballot application either in person (395 Mill St., Ortonville, MI 48462), by phone (248) 627-2851, by email ( or online through the Secretary of State at

EARLY VOTING – with the passage of Proposal 22-2, Brandon Township voters now have the right to vote in person 9 days prior to Federal and State elections at the Brandon Township Hall (395 Mill St., Ortonville, MI 48462).  Qualified electors have the right to mark and deposit the ballot into the tabulator beginning the second Saturday before the election and ending the Sunday before the election,  Early voting hours are Saturday-Sunday 9am-5pm with the exception of Wednesday, when the hours will be noon-8pm.  

IN PERSON ON ELECTION DAY – Remaining 2024 Elections are scheduled for August 6, 2024, and November 5, 2024.  Polls are open from 7am to 8pm on Election Days.  Precinct locations are listed below.

Voter Precinct Map  

Precinct 1
1025 S. Ortonville Rd., Brandon High School Cafeteria-back of building

Precinct 2 
1025 S. Ortonville Rd., Brandon High School Cafeteria-back of building

Precinct 3

2839 Oakwood Road, Oakwood Elementary School

Precinct 4 (Precinct location has changed)
3050 Sashabaw Road, Living Water Church at Seymour Lake (across from Fire Station 2)

Precinct 5
4260 Dogwood Blvd., Clarkston Lakes Mobile Home Park

Precinct 6
345 Ball St, Ortonville-Edna Burton Senior Center

Voter Registration

     There are a number of different ways for interested citizens to register to vote.

  1. Register in Person – at the Clerk’s office located in the Township offices, 395 Mill Street, Ortonville.  The hours are Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Wednesday 8:30 am to 7:00 pm and Friday 8:30 am to Noon. 
  2. Register by Mail – Click here for a voter registration form.
  3. Absentee Voter Application – Call the Clerk’s office for instructions to get an Absentee Ballot (248) 627-2851.
  4. Military Voter- Click here for the form.

  • Should you have any questions regarding these or any other election related issues, please feel free to contact the Clerk’s office at (248) 627-2851 

Petition Information for Local Candidates

     The local Primary Election will held be on August 6, 2024. Petitions are available at the Clerk’s office. The filing deadline is April 23, 2024 by 4pm. The following offices are up for election: 1 Supervisor, 1 Clerk, 1 Treasurer, 4 Trustees and 6 Library Board Members (Library Board only appears on the November 5, 2024 ballot; however, they follow the same filing deadline of April 23, 2024).  Candidates filing for Township offices may pay a $100.00 filing fee in lieu of petition. A Candidate must file an Affidavit of Identity along with the nominating petition or a $100.00 filing fee in lieu of petition.

     Please note that Village offices are up for election on November 5, 2024. The filing deadline for Village offices are July 23, 2024, by 4pm. Offices up for election are as follows: 1 President, 3 Trustees and 1 Trustee Partial term. Please note, candidates filing for Village offices may not pay $100.00 in lieu of petition.

     Petition packets are available for pick up at the Clerk’s Office.

Election Questions

If you were unable to find what you needed on our website, please feel free to call the Clerk’s office at (248)-627-2851 with any questions or concerns regarding elections or voter registration.  General information on many aspects of elections, including voter registration, polling locations, and voting equipment is also available from the Secretary of State, see links below.

Voter Information Websites

Michigan Secretary of State, Elections Division:

Early in-person Voting:

Voter Information:,4670,7-127-163 3_8716—,00.html

Oakland County Elections Division:

Michigans’ Voter Information Center (MVIC):

League of Women Voters Guide:

Representative Districts for Brandon Township

  • U.S. House of Representatives District 9th
  • State Senate District 24th
  • State House District 66th
  • County Commissioner District 7th